2013 brought in new rules for those carriers operating in the state of California. The state is reminding carriers that January 1, 2013 brought in yet another set of regulations for vehicles weighing over 26,000 pounds. They affect trucks with a model year 2000-2004.
California reduces smog on public roadways
Heavy Vehicles with a model year of 2000-2004 must now install verified soot filters and or upgrade to newer model vehicles.
The state does have programs in place that would allow carriers to phase in compliance but they must report to the state and the deadline is quickly approaching.
Small Fleet Compliance Options
A small fleet is defined as one which owns or operates 1-3 diesel trucks and or buses with a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 14,000 pounds.
The small fleet option delays PM filter requirements until January 1, 2014 and truck replacements until January 1, 2020 or later for heavier trucks (greater than 26,000 lbs). To use this option, heavier vehicles in the fleet must comply with the following schedule:
- One vehicle must have a PM filter by January 1, 2014
- Two vehicles must have PM filters by January 1, 2015
- Three vehicles must have PM filters by January 1, 2016
California combats smog
The PM filter requirements can be met by either installing the highest level PM filter retrofits that have been verified by the ARB or with PM filters that are standard equipment on 2007 or newer engines. Vehicle replacements begin January 1, 2020 on the same model year schedule as other fleets. You can also delay heavier truck replacements until January 1, 2023 if you show that all of your heavier vehicles are equipped with PM filters by January 1, 2014. Small fleet owners must report their vehicle information no later than January 31, 2014 to use these options and to demonstrate compliance.
For more details about small fleets click here
Large Fleet Options
Those carriers which operate more than three vehicles will either have to use the compliance schedule or choose the more flexible phase in option if they started reporting to the state in January 2012. Those carriers who missed the deadline may still be eligible if their fleet was in compliance last year though they may miss credits and other options. For full details click here
Trailers not off the hook
All 53 foot trailers (except for certain 2003-2009 refers) MUST have SmartWay certified aerodynamic devices.
What are the fines for non-compliance?
All carriers including out-of-state must comply with CARB. Penalties start at $1000 per violation per month and will increase over time. Already the state has generated nearly $2,000,000 in penalties just in the first nine months of 2012.
For more detailed information
California has an extensive website which offers in-depth details and many FAQ pages. To help carriers wade through all the new rules and regulations you might want to start with this page. By answering a few simple questions about your business it will give you detailed information that pertains to you.
California Diesel Hotline: 866-6DIESEL (866-634-3735).
California Compliance Website